Combines many CQ Press resources for research in American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Access is provided to Congress and the Nation (1945-2004), Historic Documents Series (1972 -), Political Handbook of the World, Supreme Court Yearbook (1989 -), Vital Statistics on American Politics and the Washington Information Directory.
CQ Researcher report offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each CQ Researcher report is based on a common structure: overview, background, current situation, pro/con section, special focus, chronology, bibliography and next step.
Global Finacial Data features historical data on worldwide stock exchanges, bond indices,intraday data, futures data,interest rates, population data, and much more, there are currently 20,000 data sets available. All data is clearly defined, easy to read, and is readily downloadable into Excel.
This resource is a database of demographic, economic, lifestyle, and consumer market information for over 350 markets and 207 countries. Statistics cover consumer lifestyles, retailing, and consumer market sizes and forecasts. The data includes 6-year historic market size data for more than 330 consumer products in 52 countries, plus 5-year forecasts. Lifestyle indicators for 71 countries, lifestyle reports for 65 countries, and country profiles for 250 countries are also included.
The PAIS International database contains references to more than 460,000 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Merrill Stein is the subject librarian for Africana Studies (Department Webpage) and is available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.